Downtime…

Mkay…So I was stitting here, with my feet up on my overworked desk as I munched on a meatloaf sandwich (I made it last night for the first time, and believe it or not, it came out quite spectacular. A little too much oatmeal, not enough seasoning…nothing more ketchup and mayo can’t fix…) staring at my blank computer screen.

After about two minutes, the blank screen was driving me mad. So I decided to post a comment completely about nothing, and irrelevant to anything writing or publishing. Why? Because I can. *Pause, pick up dropped crumb off my shirt, stuff in gaping mouth.*

And because I’ve just finished filling the last open slot for our upcoming anthology, Abaculus, I now have a little bit of downtime. Something I haven’t had in…oh, hell, months at least. And to be quite honest, I’m not sure just what to do with myself.

So, if anyone wants to help me out a bit with my unusual predicament, visit our Editors Chat page above and send in a question or two. I know we’re getting plenty of hits – yes, I’ve learned to check the blog stats on My Dashboard – so some of you have got to have a question itching the back of those creative brains I know you have.

Even editors need a little bit of motivation sometimes…

5 Responses

  1. And by the way, I was thoroughly impressed by the amount, and the quality of submissions we received.

    It took hours of contemplation, editors arguing with each other – some even walking out the door to cool off – but we finally were able to settle down and come to an agreement (well, some of us at least) and made our final list of story inclusions.

    No, no. We’re not going to post the list yet. We’ll have that up no later than September 15th. We’re holding off until we contact the chosen authors and send and receive anthology contracts before making any names known. We’re doing this to make sure that the authors and editors agree on everything, and that the details are finalized before going public.

    Congratulations to all selected submitters. Your writing stood out above the rest, and we’re glad that we were able to give you that opportunity.

    For those of you who did not make the cut, please, don’t stop writing. Stories submitted were pitted up against both new and seasoned authors from all corners of the earth, and trust me, it was not easy to widdle the numbers down to a handful from the several hundred we receieved. Keep your chin up, and keep trying. You’ll get there.

  2. I favor meatballs and marinara, myself.

  3. You’re quite the meatball yourself, Casey.

  4. Meh!

  5. …what the hell does ‘meh!’ mean?

Leave a Reply

